Roanoke Valley Music Teachers Association



Roanoke Valley Music Teachers Association is a forty-four member group of teachers from the Roanoke Valley area. We have teachers from Roanoke, Salem, Covington, Daleville, Lynchburg, Boones Mill, Vinton, Catawba, Moneta, Hardy, Fincastle, Pulaski, Blacksburg, and Troutville. One of our members who has recently moved to Rougemont, NC has remained as a member.

On Friday, September 14, Roma Scriven, NCTM, and Chairman of Certification and Credentials for RVMTA presented "The Joy of Certification." This workshop explained the benefits of certification and how to go about becoming a nationally certified teacher of music (NCTM).

On Friday, October 12, a workshop entitled,"The Jazz of Beethoven," was presented by Dr. Lenny Marcus. A highly skilled jazz player who has over 15 CD's to his credit, Dr. Marcus's most recent project includes a CD based on improvisations on the compositions of Beethoven, some of which he played for us. He also talked about the process of improvisation as well as his experiences learning about classical performance technique.

On Friday, November 2, "Making a Difference YOUR Way Through Music Link" and "Fourth Finger on B-flat: Effective Strategies for Teaching Piano" was presented by Dr. Joanne Haroutounian, Executive Director of the Music Link Foundation and author of "Fourth Finger on B-flat..." Dr. Haroutounian presented two workshops, first explaining the Music Link program and ways to become involved in it. Secondly, she discussed the practical teaching ideas detailed in her recent book.

On November 17, 2012, out annual VMTA Fall Festival will be held at Hollins University. Over one hundred students are scheduled to participate. Chair: Peggy Schaaf.

On Friday, January 11, "Standards of Learning for Music in Public Schools, and How the Private Music Teacher Can Be Supportive" will be presented by Mike Milam, Elementary Fine Arts Lead Teacher for Botetourt County Schools. Mike will discuss what children are learning about music in various grade levels in the Roanoke area and how we can complement this learning through our private teaching.

On Friday, February 8, "Using the iPad in Your Studio" will be presented by RVMTA member Sarah O'Brien, NCTM. Whether you own an iPad or not, you will be fascinated by the many applications that are available for music students and teachers using this device. From automatic page-turning during performance to interactive music games and

tools, the iPad offers resources and tools that more and more teachers are finding hard to live without. Please bring your iPad or other tablet computer to this workshop if you have one. If you are considering purchasing a new tablet, this workshop will assist you in determining whether an iPad is right for you.

On Saturday, March 2, our annual NFMC Festival will be held at Hollins University. Chair: Tanya Graybeal.

On Thursday and Friday, March 7-8, the 19th Annual Galbraith Masterclass and Teacher Workshop, featuring Dr. Rebecca McCord, will be held at Hollins University. (All events in Talmadge Hall, upstairs in Bradley unless otherwise noted.) Thursday, 10:00 a.m.: Hollins University students' masterclass; Thursday, 6:30 p.m.: Hollins Academy of Music students' masterclass; Friday, 10:00 a.m.: Teacher Workshop; and 7:00 p.m.: Recital.

On Sunday, March 17, we will have our annual RVMTA Student Recital. This year's theme is Dances. Chair: Jean Williams.

On Friday, April 12, "2, 4, 6, 8 Hands to Appreciate: Exploring Piano Ensemble with the Victorine-Wallenborn Piano Duo" will be presented by Carolyn Victorine and Becky Wallenborn of RVMTA.

On Saturday, April 20, we will have our annual Mae Stemple Memorial Scholarship for College Students auditions. Chair: Donna Boles.

On Friday, May 10, we will have a performance by our Scholarship Winners followed by our annual business meeting and luncheon.

2012-2013 Officers:

Peggy Schaaf, President
Sherrie Andrews, President-Elect (programs)
Terry Francisco, Vice-President (membership)
Mary Gunderson, Recording Secretary
Kathleen Merrell, Corresponding Secretary
Jean Williams, Treasurer
Sarah O'Brien, NCTM, Historian
Bittsy Hall, Immediate Past President
Mary Alice Bowman, Parliamentarian
Adele Carliss, Chaplain

Respectfully submitted by Peggy Schaaf.